2013 Annual Meeting

NASHVILLE – The 72nd annual meeting of the Tennessee Electric Cooperative Association was held Sunday – Tuesday, Nov. 24 – 26, at the Nashville Airport Marriott. The theme of the meeting was “Power of Potential,” and Bill Rogers, Caney Fork Electric Cooperative general manager and president of the TECA board of trustees, called the meeting to order.

Representatives from 23 member systems and one associate member were present for the business meeting. Rogers and TECA General Manager David Callis, the resolutions committee, TECA staff and representatives from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association and National Rural Telecommunications Cooperative presented reports and updates.

Elections were held for four-year positions on the TECA board of trustees. John Collins, general manager of Chickasaw Electric Cooperative, was elected from Region I. Joe Mullins, Upper Cumberland Electric Membership Corporation board member, was elected from Region II. Joe Atwood, Mountain Electric Cooperative board member, was elected from Region III.

Dan Rodamaker, president and CEO of Gibson Electric Membership Corporation, was elected president of the board of trustees. Rody Blevins, president and CEO of Volunteer Energy Cooperative, was elected vice president and Robert Drinnen, board member at Appalachian Electric Cooperative, was elected secretary treasurer.

“The Tennessee Electric Cooperative Association informs and protects co-op members,” says Rodamaker, a longtime member of the association’s board of trustees. “It is an honor to be a part of an organization that has such an important mission.”

“Congratulations to those who have been chosen for leadership roles,” said Callis. “We appreciate their service and are confident they will provide sound direction and represent Tennessee’s electric cooperatives with honor.”

Throughout the year, TECA presents training and education programs for cooperative directors. Recognized at this year’s annual meeting, board members receiving Credentialed Cooperative Director status were Michael Hicks, Appalachian EC; Michael Bouldin, Caney Fork EC; Ralhp Hall, Ft. Loudoun EC; Dave Cross, Plateau EC; Steve Lambert, Plateau EC; and Kevin Robertson, Tennessee Valley EC. Board members receiving the more involved Board Leadership certification were Dale Fain, Appalachian EC; Dale Harris, Appalachian EC; Stephen Douglas, Cumberland EMC, Britt Dye, Fayetteville PU; Paul Richardson, Fayetteville PU; Glenn Honeycutt, Upper Cumberland EMC; and Alan Pippin, Upper Cumberland EMC. James Martin, Pickwick EC, received the Credentialed Cooperative Director status and Board Leadership certificate this year.

The Tennessee Magazine reception, featuring products made or produced in Tennessee, was held on Sunday evening, Nov. 24. Attendees to this year’s meeting also heard from Jeanne Robertson, humorist and motivational speaker; Dr. Marci Rossell, economist and former CNBC contributor; and Diane Black, Tennessee’s 8th district congressman.

The Tennessee Electric Cooperative Association is a trade group representing the interests of Tennessee’s 23 electric distribution cooperatives and the 1.1 million consumers they serve.

[button link=”http://teca.smugmug.com/TECA-Annual-Meeting/TECA-Annual-Meeting-2013″]View annual meeting photos →[/button]

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *